Review: Tim Burton’s Batman

I remember watching this film back in the day. All the character of the Joker himself is odd and has no backing in the source comics, Jack does it brilliantly. Batman returns on the other hand has a lot canonically wrong with it. Most particularly the reduction of Penguin to a Solomon Grundy like miss. Take a look at this wonderful review from Sorcerer.

Enhanced by Zemanta

Sourcerer

by Jeremy DeFatta

Happy new book day, everyone! I’m taking a break from looking at real people through the lens of Batman for a couple of posts. Instead, I want to lay out some of my notes and thoughts on the 1989 Batman and 1992 Batman Returns films, which I recently reacquired and watched again for the first time in nearly a decade. This week, I’ll look at 1989’s Batman, directed by Tim Burton and starring Jack Nicholson, Michael Keaton, and Kim Basinger.

BatmanPoster

For many fans in my generation, this film was our first exposure to the character and world of Batman. I’m pleased to say I don’t feel as negatively toward this movie as I did just a few years ago (for whatever reasons). Some aspects of it have not aged well, but it is not a bad film. I could do with a little less Prince, though.

Here…

View original post 882 more words

About Julian Munds

I possess a degree in Theatre and Drama from the University of Toronto. I own my own theatre company called Snobbish Theatre. We focus our work on new versions of classics.

Posted on May 28, 2014, in Batman, DC and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Say something!

