Holy Hollywood Batman!: Adam West’s Batman To Finally Get Re-Released

Holy Awesome News, Batman!

This was my first introduction to Batman and indeed comic related anything. As I grew older I came to loathe the real Batman because I always felt he was need quite funny enough. There was never any humour, that wasn’t some psychological jab by Joker or Riddler, and I felt like that people didn’t get the character that I loved from TV.

When I came to understand that I was wrong, I saw the errors in the show, but I still did not learn to care for the Bat. I still find him dreary.

In short, I am excited for this and will preorder it when I can.

Enhanced by Zemanta

PopWrapped

Abbie Sedgeman
Staff Writer

Years of conflict between 20th Century Fox and Warner Brothers has prevented Adam West’s Batman from the 1960s from ever having a home release.

This particular Batman portrayal is like marmite; you either love it, or you hate it. This is due to a never before seen camp aspect to the Caped Crusader, which many loved, hence becoming so iconic. However, others disliked that West’s camp character tarnished their view of Batman.

This debate could never be added to by the opinions of a newer generation, seeing as it is not possible to actually watch this iconic series. A rights dispute between Warner Bros. and 20th Century Fox that has been unfolding for several years prevented this from ever happening.

Conan O’Brien took to Twitter, posting a picture of himself in the car used by West’s Batman, revealing that the Batman ’66 TV series…

View original post 134 more words

About Julian Munds

I possess a degree in Theatre and Drama from the University of Toronto. I own my own theatre company called Snobbish Theatre. We focus our work on new versions of classics.

Posted on January 17, 2014, in Batman, DC and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Say something!

