I Love ‘Harry Potter,’ But It’s Time to Let It End

I certainly agree with this to some degree.

In my opinion, the success of the original franchise was wild and uncontrolled. This was shown in the almost bi-polar nature of the books themselves, veering from well fleshed out, to rushed unsatisfying events. Did someone say Tonks and Remus? I certainly did.

After the uninteresting conception of Pottermore, I must say, I hold out little hope for a quality upcoming expansion helmed by Rowling herself.

I wouldn’t mind seeing what other authors have to contribute to the world. Sometimes out ward collaboration of many minds makes a world more comprehensive. Rowling has established the ground rules to the Potter world, but that is not say a new person could not expand it in new and interesting ways. These collaborative mindsets have worked in the shared universes of Marvel and DC for decades.

Rowling said herself after the Hallows finished, that she had said all she needed to say about the characters. I think the failure of Pottermore was directly because of her involvement. She had nothing to add but repeated and tired material.

In short, I am for the expansion of the universe but I want new perspectives, not the tried and true.

Enhanced by Zemanta

Flavorwire

Six years after its final book and two after its final movie, the Harry Potter series has started showing some not-entirely-unexpected signs of life in 2013. Back in September, we learned that J.K. Rowling will write Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Themthe first in a series of films set in Harry‘s canonical universe. And yesterday, news broke that a Potter prequel is set to hit London’s West End in 2015, co-produced by Rowling herself. But as one of the many superfans expected to hit the (magical, weather-replicating) ceiling at the idea of an expanded Potterverse, I’m concerned Harry Potter might be best just the way it is: iconic, massively popular, and definitely, conclusively over.

View original post 677 more words

About Julian Munds

I possess a degree in Theatre and Drama from the University of Toronto. I own my own theatre company called Snobbish Theatre. We focus our work on new versions of classics.

Posted on January 4, 2014, in Harry Potter and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Say something!

