Pop Of Opinion: Why I Hate This Damaged, Vanilla Version Of The Walking Dead’s The Governor

I have long since abandoned this show. Though I think David Morrissey is not to blame, the writing is astoundingly terrible. There is little to no arc and characters seem to change depending upon who’s writing. I also notice that there is no subtext in this show. Every character says exactly what they are thinking. How can an actor say any of those lines?

We all know, following the Harrison Ford model, if the lines are terrible the only way to make them palatable is to ignore them. That’s why Han took over the original Star Wars series and the Walking Dead needs to be canceled or retconned.

This show has gone off the tracks.

PopWrapped

Dani Strehle
Content Editor

Last week, I made no bones about my utter loathing of last Sunday’s The Walking Dead episode, entitled “Live Bait.” In fact, it’s the only scathing review I have given The Walking Dead thus far, as I have thought that Season 4 has been practically perfect in every way.

The lovely Shelby Arnold, my colleague and fellow Deadhead, was perplexed by my irrational hate-on for, not only the episode in its entirety, but for the wasted, damaged and vanilla version of, in my opinion, one of television’s greatest villains.

Some may confuse my distaste of the episode for dislike of The Governor himself. This would be an egregious misconception.  In fact, it is my deep love for the character (and David Morrissey, the brilliant Brit that plays him) that left me so wanting. When The Governor (or Phillip, as his lover Andrea and other “close…

View original post 705 more words

About Julian Munds

I possess a degree in Theatre and Drama from the University of Toronto. I own my own theatre company called Snobbish Theatre. We focus our work on new versions of classics.

Posted on November 24, 2013, in Image Comics, The Walking Dead and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Say something!

